In today’s day and age of Information technology anybody with a computer can just about learn anything he or she puts their mind to, if you are one of those who did learn software testing on your own, then right about now you must be wondering what’s next? Well the simple answer is software testing certification. In this article we will first understand why we need certification and then we can take a look at all the software tester certifications that are out there for you.

What is Certification?

Certification is nothing but the validation of your knowledge or skill usually by a form of assessment, review or audit. And by providing an official document confirming it.

Why get a software testing certification?

The job market nowadays is highly competitive, and flooded with software testers so a certification can give you that edge over the other candidates. Let’s just say that if it comes down to you and another guy with identical knowledge and skills as you but also has certification, who do you think will be hired?

Software certification also helps beginners with no testing experience land jobs based on the fact that the certification is proof that you have a good understanding of standard testing terms and concepts.

Types of Software Testing Certifications?

The two certification organizations which are mainly recognized in Software testing are:

1.International Software Testing Qualifications Board (ISTQB)

The ISTQB (International Software Testing Qualifications Board) is the eminent and world leader in the certification of competences in QA software testing. It’s a nonprofit organization run by a volunteering group of testing experts.

The three levels of software testing certification course provided by ISTQB are:

·         Foundation level Certification

·         Advance Level Certification

·         Expert level Certification

I. ISTQB Foundation level Certification

Format: Multiple Choice

ligibility: Beginner

Duration: 60 Mins*

Number of Questions: 40

Passing Score: 65%              

*participants taking the exam not in their spoken language will get addition 15 mins time.

The first step of Java certification provided by Oracle. This examination can be given after completing the Java SE 8 fundamentals course.

The certification is aimed at anyone involved in software testing and beginners.

II. ISTQB Advance level Certification

Advance level certification can be further divided into the following

Advanced Level Test Manager

Format: Multiple Choice

Eligibility: Foundation Certificate          

Number of Questions: 65 

Passing Score: 65%

Advanced Level Test Analyst

Format: Multiple Choice

Eligibility: Foundation Certificate          

Duration: 120 Mins*

Number of Questions: 40

Passing Score: 65%

Advanced Level Technical Test Analyst

Format: Multiple Choice

  Eligibility: Foundation Certificate          

Duration: 60 Mins*

Number of Questions: 45

Passing Score: 65%

Aimed at test professionals who want a deeper understanding of software testing.

III. ISTQB Expert level Certification

In order to get a Software testing certification at Expert Level the candidate must be able to convince the ISTBQ stakeholders that he is an Expert, due to this the examination structure reflects this. The examination is divided into two sections

·         Multiple-choice question component

·         Essay question component.

IV. ISTQB Foundation Level Agile Tester:

Format: Multiple Choice

Eligibility: Foundation Certificate                          

Duration: 60 Mins*

 Number of Questions: 40

Passing Score: 65%

Using the principles of agile software development in software testing is called agile testing. An agile tester works completely different from the way a standard software tester would.

The certification covers the following concepts:

·         Agile software development

·         Fundamental Agile Testing Principles, Practices and Processes

·         Agile Testing Methods, Techniques and Tools

The second most popular certification after ISTQB is CSTE

Certified Software Test Engineer (CSTE)

This certification program is for Software Testers and Program Managers that maintain professional competency in Quality Control. The certification program is offered by QAI.

The examination is divided into two sections

·         Multiple-choice question (100 Questions /75 Minutes time)

·         Essay question. (12 Questions /75 Minutes time)

Passing score to get certified is 70%.

Certified Software Test Professional (CSTP)

This certification provides the necessary skillset for software application testing. The program is available for candidates who are new to testing and also for seasoned managers and leaders. The certification requires you to enroll into a 10-day training to understand the following concepts.

·         Managing the Testing Process

·         Principles of Software Testing

·         Test Design

·         Test Automation

·         Test Executions and Defect Tracking

·         Static Testing

Passing score to get certified is 80%.

Certified Test Manager (CTM)

The certification is targeted at Senior testers and Managers by enhancing their capability to manage their test projects effectively, Test Management Body of Knowledge (TMBK) is the base of CTM certification. Testers who have more than 3 years of experience and candidates who have completed CSTP certification can apply.

In order to take this examination, the knowledge of the following topics is imperative.

·         Risk Management

·         Test Organization Management

·         Test Project Management

·         Test Process Management

·         Test Process Measurement and Improvement

·         Test Automation Strategies and Architectures

·         Software Quality Assurance

Passing score to get certified is 80%.

All the above-mentioned software tester certifications are all Vender neutral certifications. There are a few vendor certifications that are available as well if you want to add those to your repertoire.

1.HP Accredited Software Professional UFT 12:

Unified Functional Testing (UFT) formerly called QuickTest Professional is a test automation tool by HP, to use this tool you need to get certification from HP.

Format: Multiple Choice                                                                                           

Duration: 120 Mins

Number of Questions: 75

Passing Score: 65%.

2.IBM Rational Functional Tester (RFT):

RFT is a test automation tool which enables you to automate app testing on multiple platforms. it’s a commercial tool by IBM and requires certification from them to use it.

Hopefully, this article has helped shed some light into the need for software tester certifications. Getting certified gives you a sense of accomplishment and makes you absolutely confident about your skills. It also opens up new career opportunities be it within your company or elsewhere. It helps you keep up to date with the ever evolving world of testing, so choose the certification that best suits you.